About the University of Debrecen

The University of Debrecen was established on January 1, 2000 with the (re-)integration and succession of theretofore independent institutions. Its historical roots reach back to the foundation of the Reformed College of Debrecen (1538), the three academic faculties of which served as the basis of the Hungarian Royal University of Debrecen established by Act XXXVI of 1912. Having been in operation for four and a half centuries without any interruptions, our university is the oldest institution of higher education in the country continuously operating in the same town. Following integration in 2000, other units have joined the university and as a result teaching now takes place in four towns—Debrecen, Nyíregyháza, Hajdúböszörmény, Szolnok—and on eight campuses. The University of Debrecen, one of Hungary’s five research universities, offers the widest range of programs in the country for more than 30,000 students. The 1,500 instructors in 14 faculties strive to provide an education worthy of our status as an elite university to all who choose to continue their education with us. Two thirds of our 1,500 instructors hold scholarly degrees, with 126 professors of them being members of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. Our research results make up 14-15% of the total national research output. We aim to educate knowledgeable, well-prepared professionals who can enter the regional, national, or international job market armed with a competitive degree. It fills us with great pride that our institution, operating in Eastern Hungary’s administrative, economic, educational, scientific, and cultural center, has entered a phase of dynamic development in the last few years. Due to our investments in infrastructure, we are not only increasing the number of educational facilities and laboratories, but we are also creating a modern living environment for our students with the help of new and renovated dormitories and community spaces.

Updated: 2021.09.14.